About WBCW
Present Commissions

Present Commissions

List of Members

1. Chairperson Smt. Sunanda Mukherjee Phone: 033-23595609, 23210154, 23345324 (Fax), Mobile: +91-9830532856
2. Vice-Chairperson Smt. Dola Sen Mobile:+91-9830361241, Email:ds2011.2011@rediffmail.com
3. Member Smt. Naina Das Mobile: +91-9433072829
4. Member Dr. Sikha Sarkar Aditya Mobile: +91-9434311988
5. Member Smt. Rehena Khatun Mobile: +91-9232750832, Email: rehena6@gmail.com
6. Member Smt. Chaitali Dutta Mobile: +91-9903168711
7. Member Smt. June Maliah Mobile: +91-9903147821, Phone: (033) 2287-3178, Email : junemaliah@yahoo.com
8. Member Smt. Sunita Saha Mobile: +91-9831010162, Phone: 033-2249-9696, 033-2227-6886
9. Member Dr. Uma Soren Mobile: +91-9883123818
10. Member Smt. Nandita Chowdhury Mobile: +91-9831894218
11. Member Smt. Shanta Chhetri Mobile: +91-9434308650
12. Member Secretary Shri. Narbu Wangdi Bhutia, W.B.C.S. (Exe) West Bengal Commission for Women & Ex-Officio Special Secretary to the Government of West Bengal Mobile: +91-9434328124, Phone: 033-2321-5895, Fax: 033-2334-5324

1. The Commission is a monitoring and re-commendatory body. The Commission performs all or any of the following functions:-
a. Investigate and examine all matters relating to the safeguards provided for women under the Constitution of India and other laws, and recommend steps to be taken by the State Government for effective implementation of such safeguards.
b. Review the existing provisions of the Constitution and other laws affecting women and recommended amendments thereto so as to suggest remedial legislative measures to meet any lacunae, inadequacies or short comings in such legislation.
c. Take up cases of violation of the provisions of the Constitution and of other laws relating to women in the State with the appropriate authorities
d. Look into complaints and take suomoto notice of matters relating to
i. Deprivation of women's rights;
ii.Non-implementation of laws enacted to provide protection to women;
iii. Non-compliance with policy decisions, guidelines or instructions aimed at mitigating hardships and ensuring welfare, and providing relief to women; and take up issues arising out of such matters with appropriate authorities.
e. Call for special studies or investigations into specific problems or situations arising out of discrimination and / atrocities against women and identify the constraints so as to recommend strategies for their removal;
f. Evaluate the progress of advancement of women in the state;
g. Visit a jail, destitute girls home, women's institution or any other place of custody where women are kept as prisoners or otherwise and take up with the concerned authorities such matters for remedial action as may be necessary.
h. Any other matter which may be referred to it by the State Government.
2. The State Government may consult the Commission on policy matters affecting women.
3. The Commission shall, while investigating any matter referred to in clauses a. and d. of sub-section 1., have all the powers of a civil court under the Code of Civil Procedure, 1908, while trying a suit and, in particular, in respect of the following matters:-
a. summoning and enforcing the attendance of any person from any part of India and examining his on oath;
b. requiring the discovery and production of any document;
c. receiving evidence on affidavits; d.any other matter which may be prescribed.
4.a. The Commission presents to the State Government six monthly reports of its activities together with its recommendations and the Sate Government causes them to be laid before the State Legislature as soon as possible along with a memorandum explaining the action taken or proposed to be taken on the recommendations and the reasons for non-acceptance, if any, of any of such recommendations.
b. It is be the duty of the Commission to furnish comments and recommendations on any report of the National Commission for Women on any matter with which the State Government is concerned as that Govt. may call for.

Following members of the commission have been nominated members for District Level Committee for protection of Women's rights.


BANKURA: Smt. Suma Mukherjee, Smt. Mamata Murmu
BIRBHUM: Smt. Sheuli Saha, Smt. June Maliah
BURDWAN: Smt. Mamata Murmu, Smt. Suma Mukherjee
HOOGHLY: Smt. Suma Mukherjee, Smt. Mamata Murmu
MIDNAPORE (EAST): Smt. Sheuli Saha, Smt. June Maliah
MIDNAPORE (WEST): Smt. Sheuli Saha, Smt. June Maliah
PURULIA: Smt. Suma Mukherjee, Smt. Mamata Murmu


COOCH BEHAR: Smt. Jyostna Agarwal, Smt. Keya Chowdhury
DARJEELING: Smt. Jyostna Agarwal, Smt. Keya Chowdhury
DAKSHIN DINAJPUR: Smt. Shenaz Quadery, Mahamuda Begum
JALPAIGURI: Smt. Keya Chowdhury, Smt. Jyostna Agarwal
MALDAH: Smt. Mahamuda Begum,Smt. Shenaz Quadery
UTTAR DINAJPUR: Smt. Jyostna Agarwal, Smt. Keya Chowdhury


HOWRAH: Smt. Krishna Chakraborty, Smt. Chaitali Dutta
Nadia: Smt. Mahamuda Begum,Smt. Shenaz Quadery
NORTH 24 PARGANAS: Smt. Chaitali Dutta, Smt. Krishna Chakraborty
MURSHIDABAD: Smt. Shenaz Quadery, Smt. Mahamuda Begum
SOUTH 24 PARGANAS: Smt. Chaitali Dutta, Smt. Krishna Chakraborty
KOLKATA: All Members